Congressional Children’s Champions Announced

Washington – Today, the First Focus Campaign for Children, a national bipartisan children’s advocacy group, recognized 100 Members of Congress for leadership on issues important to the health and well-being of children during 2015.

“Lots of politicians talk about kids’ issues, but few back it up,” said Bruce Lesley, president of the Campaign for Children. “Champions and Defenders delivered for kids.”

The advocacy organization recognized 50 Members of Congress as “Champions for Children” for their extraordinary efforts to protect and improve the future of America’s next generation. An additional 50 Members were recognized as “Defenders of Children” for their support of policies that advance the well-being of children.

In selecting Champions and Defenders, the First Focus Campaign for Children noted leaders who introduced, co-sponsored, and voted for legislation to meet children’s needs. In addition, the organization considered Members who demonstrated extraordinary initiative by spearheading activities such as sponsoring hearings or garnering the support of their colleagues to improve the lives of children. The 2015 Champions and Defenders are:

2015 Champions for Children


Tammy Baldwin (D-WI)

Richard Blumenthal (D-CT)

Sherrod Brown (D-OH)

Bob Casey (D-PA)

Susan Collins (R-ME)

Dick Durbin (D-IL)

Dianne Feinstein (D-CA)

Al Franken (D-MN)

Kirsten Gillibrand (D-NY)

Mazie Hirono (D-HI)

Mark Kirk (R-IL)

Amy Klobuchar (D-MN)

Patty Murray (D-WA)

Rob Portman (R-OH)

Jack Reed (D-RI)

Harry Reid (D-NV)

Ron Wyden (D-OR)


Karen Bass (D-CA)

Judy Chu (D-CA)

David Cicilline (D-RI)

Katherine Clark (D-MA)

Steve Cohen (D-TN)

Danny Davis (D-IL)

Rosa DeLauro (D-CT)

Suzan DelBene (D-WA)

Ted Deutch (D-FL)

Lloyd Doggett (D-TX)

Keith Ellison (D-MN)

Chris Gibson (R-NY)

Gene Green (D-TX)

Raúl Grijalva (D-AZ)

Luis Gutiérrez (D-IL)

Richard Hanna (R-NY)

Mike Honda (D-CA)

Sheila Jackson Lee (D-TX)

Ann Kuster (D-NH)

Barbara Lee (D-CA)

Alan Lowenthal (D-CA)

Michelle Lujan Grisham (D-NM)

Carolyn Maloney (D-NY)

Doris Matsui (D-CA)

Betty McCollum (D-MN)

Jim McDermott (D-WA)

Jim McGovern (D-MA)

Gwen Moore (D-WI)

Charles Rangel (D-NY)

Ileana Ros-Lehtinen (R-FL)

Lucille Roybal-Allard (D-CA)

Steve Stivers (R-OH)

Debbie Wasserman Schultz (D-FL)

2015 Defenders of Children


Cory Booker (D-NJ)

Maria Cantwell (D-WA)

Tom Carper (D-DE)

Chris Coons (D-DE)

Orrin Hatch (R-UT)

Heidi Heitkamp (D-ND)

Dean Heller (R-NV)

Patrick Leahy (D-VT)

Ed Markey (D-MA)

Jeff Merkley (D-OR)

Lisa Murkowski (R-AK)

Bernie Sanders (I-VT)

Brian Schatz (D-HI)

Chuck Schumer (D-NY)

Debbie Stabenow (D-MI)

Elizabeth Warren (D-MA)

Sheldon Whitehouse (D-RI)


Earl Blumenauer (D-OR)

Tony Cárdenas (D-CA)

John Conyers (D-MI)

Rodney Davis (R-IL)

Susan Davis (D-CA)

Charlie Dent (R-PA)

Bob Dold (R-IL)

Donna Edwards (D-MD)

Eliot Engel (D-NY)

Elizabeth Esty (D-CT)

Marcy Kaptur (D-OH)

Derek Kilmer (D-WA)

Jim Langevin (D-RI)

Sandy Levin (D-MI)

John Lewis (D-GA)

Frank LoBiondo (R-NJ)

Nita Lowey (D-NY)

Sean Patrick Maloney (D-NY)

Patrick Murphy (D-FL)

Chellie Pingree (D-ME)

Mark Pocan (D-WI)

Jared Polis (D-CO)

Dave Reichert (R-WA)

Jan Schakowsky (D-IL)

Adam Schiff (D-CA)

Bobby Scott (D-VA)

Jackie Speier (D-CA)

Mike Thompson (D-CA)

Chris Van Hollen (D-MD)

Juan Vargas (D-CA)

Bonnie Watson Coleman (D-NJ)

Frederica Wilson (D-FL)

John Yarmuth (D-KY)

This is the Campaign for Children’s sixth annual class of Champions for Children. For more information about past honorees, visit

# # #

The First Focus Campaign for Children is a 501(c)(4) nonprofit organization affiliated with First Focus, a bipartisan children’s advocacy organization. The Campaign for Children advocates directly for legislative change in Congress to ensure children and families are the priority in federal policy and budget decisions. For more information, visit

Be the first to comment

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.
Secured Via NationBuilder